Brake switch options with servo

Post Reply
Red Devil
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Brake switch options with servo

Post by Red Devil »

I’m currently away in Cornwall and yesterday I had someone stop me to say they had followed me for several miles into Fowey and I had no brake lights. I have a dual circuit upgrade with a vwjim remote servo.

I’ve touched the two wires from the switch together and the lights come on so I assumed it was the switch. However, if I stand on the brakes really hard the switch does activate the lights. Hence the problem seems to be that the switch doesn’t activate with lighter pressure and I rarely have to stand on the brakes at the pressure required to activate the lights. I know there are various discussions about faulty switches etc but it doesn’t appear to be the switch itself so what are my options?

I guess I may have to just live with it for the final few days of our holiday but now it’s been pointed out to me I’m paranoid every time I drive along the small roads and hills of Cornwall with anyone behind me.

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Steve
User avatar
vwJim
SSVC Committee Member
SSVC Committee Member
Posts: 20161
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: under a bus in Hampshire...
Contact:

Re: Brake switch options with servo

Post by vwJim »

Change the switch out. They can get lazy and only come on with high pressure than normal.

Or move the switch to after the servo.
Supplying quality in house designed items plus parts from SyncLink, Kennedy Clutches, & CB Performance. Also fitting service including modifications & mechanical upgrades.
User avatar
vwJim
SSVC Committee Member
SSVC Committee Member
Posts: 20161
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 6:05 pm
Location: under a bus in Hampshire...
Contact:

Re: Brake switch options with servo

Post by vwJim »

Supplying quality in house designed items plus parts from SyncLink, Kennedy Clutches, & CB Performance. Also fitting service including modifications & mechanical upgrades.
Red Devil
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Brake switch options with servo

Post by Red Devil »

Thanks Jim. I’ll get that sorted when I get home. I’ve ordered one to be delivered tomorrow so I have a new one installed before my 8 hour journey home! Delivery costs were three times the amount of the part itself but much better than being rear ended in my view!

Thanks

Steve
ted698
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 1450
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bridgnorth, Shropshire.

Re: Brake switch options with servo

Post by ted698 »

I had exactly the same problem.... a new switch sorted it immediately.
Red Devil
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: Brake switch options with servo

Post by Red Devil »

Replaced the switch on the campsite this evening and all working fine again now. Many thanks as I hadn’t realised that the switches could become “tired” like this with age. It sounds more like me than a brake switch!

At least I can drive home knowing all is ok now.

Thanks

Steve
Post Reply