Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post Reply
ernie
Registered user
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by ernie »

Hi all.
I have just replaced the fuel cap on my 64 bys whuch is running a 1776 with twin 40s.
There is no hole in the cap - do i need one?

lids_2001
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 283
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Enfield, North London

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by lids_2001 »

Does the tank have a breather pipe? If yes then no you don it need one


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image

Tourist exchange with optional extra of a rubber mat!

User avatar
funkyfreakapotomus
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Bideford, North Devon

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by funkyfreakapotomus »

Agreed, I put one in my cap as I have no breather pipe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1964 Canterbury Pitt
1968 Bug (under construction)

Keep it stock!!!

ernie
Registered user
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by ernie »

Thanks guys - I will take a look at the tank and see if there is a breather pipe - where should I be looking - will it be obvious?

Bally
Registered user
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Melburg

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by Bally »

funkyfreakapotomus wrote:Agreed, I put one in my cap as I have no breather pipe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
How/where do you put a hole in you cap safely? I have 1776 with dual kadrons and have a vacuum inside the tank every time I take the fuel cap off. It is a bay tank with vintage aftermarket locking cap. Cheers. Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
59 Split Panel Deluxe
63 rhd Squareback project

User avatar
BJ1
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 3512
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 8:12 pm
Location: Sunny Devon

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by BJ1 »

Bally wrote:
funkyfreakapotomus wrote:Agreed, I put one in my cap as I have no breather pipe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
How/where do you put a hole in you cap safely? I have 1776 with dual kadrons and have a vacuum inside the tank every time I take the fuel cap off. It is a bay tank with vintage aftermarket locking cap. Cheers. Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bay tank should have a breather pipe at the top - probably been blocked off. I put a short length of fuel hose on the unblocked breather and added a one way valve from a chainsaw tank at the end. Like this http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/270899344698? ... EBIDX%3AIT

Works perfectly with a locking unvented fuel cap.
1966 SO42 Westy in Velvet Green - on the road at last!
1967 Devon from Devon still in Devon
1967 Sundial from Idaho
1971 Westfalia from LA
1971 patina Delux from Montana now living in Germany
1972 Devon now owned by No 1 son!

User avatar
funkyfreakapotomus
SSVC Member
SSVC Member
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Bideford, North Devon

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by funkyfreakapotomus »

Bally wrote:
funkyfreakapotomus wrote:Agreed, I put one in my cap as I have no breather pipe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
How/where do you put a hole in you cap safely? I have 1776 with dual kadrons and have a vacuum inside the tank every time I take the fuel cap off. It is a bay tank with vintage aftermarket locking cap. Cheers. Dave


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I drilled it through just under a centimetre from the edge, when I fill up and twist the cap back on I make sure it's not blocked by the edge of pipe (to the tank i.e. neck) to allow it to breathe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1964 Canterbury Pitt
1968 Bug (under construction)

Keep it stock!!!

ernie
Registered user
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:20 pm

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by ernie »

Would it not make sense just to drill a small hole (1/8 in?) in the middle of the cap?

Bally
Registered user
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 3:55 pm
Location: Melburg

Re: Do i need a hole in my fuel cap?

Post by Bally »

Thanks for the replies. I'll investigate the bay tank breather - notceasybti get at but the engine has a bad oil leak, as does the gearbox so the engine needs to come out which will help no doubt. Failing that I can drill a hole although in my case the lock is in the middle so it will need to be offset. Cheers. Dave
59 Split Panel Deluxe
63 rhd Squareback project

Post Reply